Tibetan Refugee Settlements:

Soon after the first refugees started coming to India, the Department of Home was established to coordinate the immediate relief assistance for them and to find a long term solution for the resettlement of refugees. The resettlement of refugees also involves providing basic amenities and adequate source of livelihood.


There are 45 Tibetan settlement Offices functioning directly under the jurisdiction of Department of Home across India, Nepal, Bhutan and the welfare and interests of these settlements are looked after by their respective Representative or welfare officers. The settlements are primarily assisted by the Government of India and other voluntary aid organizations.

Click (Settlement Map) for the Location of Tibetan Settlements. It looks after 15 agriculture-based settlements, 13 Handicraft based settlements and 16 cluster and scattered communities in India. In Nepal, there are 8 agriculture-based settlements, 3 Handicraft based settlements and 2 cluster and scattered communities. All of the 7 communities in Bhutan are agriculture based communities.

Types of Tibetan Settlements in India:

  1. Bomdila – A.P. is under the jurisdiction of Tenzingang (A.P.) Settlement Office.
  2. Lingtsang Munduwala, Rajpur Tibetan Women Handicraft Centre, Mussoorie, Haridwar, Nainital & Saharanpur are under the jurisdiction of Dekyiling Settlement Office.
  3. Rewalsar (TSO Pema) & Sundarnagar are under the jurisdiction of TSO Mandi.
Name and email of respective Tibetan Settlement offices in India:
Sr. No. Tibetan Settlement Office CRO/Officer Name Email ID
1 C.R.O. Bengaluru Jigme Tsultrim [email protected]
2 C.R.O. Sonamling, Ladakh Dhondup Tashi [email protected]
3 C.R.O. Shimla Tsultrim Dorjee [email protected]
4 Bir Dege, Bir Kunchok Lhamo [email protected]
5 Bir Tibetan Society, Bir Karma Namgyal [email protected]
6 Bir Chauntra, Chauntra Meri Kyab [email protected]
7 Dickyi Larsoe, Bylakuppe Chemi Dorjee [email protected]
8 Phuntsokling, Dalhousie Phuntsok Topgyal [email protected]
9 Darjeeling, West Bengal Tsewang Phuntsok [email protected]
10 Norgyeling, Bandhara Dhondup Sangpo [email protected]
11 Dekyiling, Dehradun Dhondup Gyalpo [email protected]
12 Samyeling, Delhi Dorje Tsering [email protected]
13 TSO Dharamsala Kunchok Migmar [email protected]
14 TSO Gangtok, Sikkim Lhakpa Tsering [email protected]
15 Doegu Yulgyelling, Herbertpur Dolma Tsering [email protected]
16 Rabgyeling, Hunsur Namgyal Samdup [email protected]
17 Kalimpong, West Bangal Karma Gelek [email protected]
18 Dhondenling, Kollegal Gelek Jungney [email protected]
19 Palrabling, Kullu Thupten Choephel [email protected]
20  Kamrao Rapten Tsering [email protected]
21 Lugsung Samdupling, Bylakuppe Phurbu Tsering (acting) [email protected]
22 Phendeling, Mainpat Tenzin Dadon [email protected]
23 Choephelling, Miao Dorjee Rinzin  [email protected]
24 Doeguling, Mundgod Lhakpa Dolma [email protected]et
25 Phuntsokling, Odisha Tenzin Samten (acting) [email protected]
26 TSO Mandi, (Pandoh) Tenzin Tsultem [email protected]
27 Paonta Cholsum Gelek Jamyang [email protected]
28 Sakya, Puruwala Tenzin Lekshey [email protected]
29 Kunphenling, Ravangla Dorjee Tsering [email protected]
30 Kham Katok, Sataun Sonam Wangdue [email protected]
31 Shillong, Mehgalaya Pema Dhondup [email protected]
32 Bonshi, Solan (Dolanji) Tenzin Choephel [email protected]
33 Tashiling, Sonada Tenzin Jordan (acting) [email protected]
34 Tenzingang, Arunachal Pradesh Tenzin Rinchen [email protected]
35 Dhargyeling, Tezu Tenzin Lodoe (acting) [email protected]
36 Tuting, Arunachal Pradesh Dorjee Rinzin  [email protected]

Types of Tibetan Settlements in Nepal:

1. Rasuwa, Walung and Sholukhumbu all come under the jurisdiction of Shawara Settlement Office

2. Lotserok falls under jurisdiction of Tashiling Settlement Office

3. Baglung comes under the jurisdiction of Tashi Palkhiel Settlement Office.

Name and email of respective Settlement offices in Nepal:
Sr. No. Tibetan Settlement Office Officer Name Email ID
1 Choejor (Boudha & Jorpati) Phurbu Tashi [email protected]
2 Shawara Tsering Dolma [email protected]
3 Gyalsa phakshing Karma Gyaltsen [email protected]
4 Lodrik Tashi Dorjee [email protected]
5 Tashiling Yeshi Choedon [email protected]
6 Tashi Palkhiel Karma Soepa [email protected]
7 Jawalakhel, Samdupling Tashi Tsetan [email protected]
8 Lotserok Tashi Dorjee [email protected]

Types of Tibetan Settlements in Bhutan:

All of the above communities are under the jurisdiction of the Bhutan Tibetan Settlement Office.

Name and email of Tibetan Settlement office in Bhutan:
Sr.No. Tibetan Settlement Office Officer Name Email ID
1 Bhutan Dorjee Gyalpo [email protected]

Problems and goals:

One of the greatest problem in the settlements is that there is an undergrowth of population within the community and on top of that lots of existing Tibetans in India are migrating to western countries in pursuit of higher standard of living. Moreover the number of Tibetans fleeing from Tibet has highly reduced due to the strict restrictions imposed by the Chinese government. The goal now is to provide more opportunities and facilities to the Tibetans and more importantly to the youths in order to enable them to be self reliant and also to have them contribute towards the cause of Tibet by serving in the exile Tibetan community in India.